Week 9

This week, I made two loaves of bread. I scored one of them and painted the other. Here’s how they turned out:

The paint was a mix of food coloring, cornstarch, and water. I was worried that the paint would burn when it got baked, but it only cracked a little bit. I cut around the painted design so that it wouldn’t be distorted when the bread rose as it baked, and I think this worked pretty well. Painting on the bread wasn’t something that I was planning on doing originally, but I saw a picture of painted sourdough and wanted to try it.

I think that the scored sourdough turned out pretty well. This design had a lot of small cuts, so not all of them are even. One side of the bread puffed up a lot more than the other, which is probably also from different depths of scoring.

I have started working on a slideshow presentation, but I still have a lot to do before it’s finished.

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar