Week 6-Checking the Plan

Before I made this week’s loaf of bread, I thought that I was nowhere near reaching the end goal, but after making this loaf of bread, I think I’m actually doing pretty well staying to the plan. I would like to get more practice scoring the bread and trying new patterns, but everything is going well so far.

I still need to record a bread scoring clip for my final presentation, learn more patterns, and put together the final presentation.

Here’s some things I did differently this week:

  1. Putting less water. Because I am using all purpose flour, it needs less water than bread flour. It also made the dough a bit stiffer and easier to score.
  2. Baking in a cast iron pot. I did some research on Dutch ovens, and a cast iron pot basically does the same thing.
  3. Scoring deeper. This helped the dough open up and rise more in the oven. I also proofed it for less time.

The big flap on the side is called an ear. I was trying to make one last time, but I didn’t score deep enough.

2 Responses

  1. Mrs. Englot at |

    Is there a reason to have an ear?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar